Close X
  • Our Focus
  • Home
  • About
  • Ministries
  • Missions
  • Events
  • News
  • Resources
  • X



    United Methodists of Upper New YorkLiving the Gospel. Being God's Love.

    news article

    Bishop Webb recognizes many across the UNY Conference

    October 9, 2022 / By Shannon Hodson / .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

    During the 2022 Upper New York (UNY) Annual Conference, Upper New York Area Resident Bishop, Mark J. Webb, recognized the 2022 retirees of the UNY Conference, the individuals who received licenses as local pastors (LLPs), the LLPs who completed the Course of Studies, the Certified Lay Ministers, and the Cabinet.

    Speaking of the retirees, Bishop Webb said, “One of my biggest regrets is that we cannot see these people in person look them in the eye, to shake their hand, and give them a hug for their years of ministry.”

    The 2022 retirees are:

    • Jane M. Bensley
    • Cheryl A. Brown
    • David E. Carnie
    • Anne I. Cole
    • Susan D. Crawson-Brizzolara
    • Thomas E. Easttey
    • Denise L. Gisotti
    • Kevin Grish
    • Susan Hadley
    • Pam Harris
    • Dana Horrell
    • Stephen Jackson
    • Albert Johnson
    • Augustus E. Jordan
    • Laurel M. Jordan
    • Kandice Caldwell Joyce
    • Kathy Kerr-Carpenter
    • Rhonda L. Kouterick
    • Robert McCarthy
    • Holly E. Nye
    • Mark E. Parsons
    • David C. Piatt
    • James W. Stevens
    • John R. Tyson
    • William B. Verity
    • Michael K. Willis

    Together, retirees of this year’s class spent 732 years using the gifts that God has given them to serve Christ and serve the church

    Bishop Webb said, “While their status may say ‘retired,’ the do not stop staying engaged with the church.”

    Bishop Webb also recognized the 25 people who have become licensed local pastors since the last Annual Conference. Local pastors are individuals who have completed licensing school and have been appointed by the Bishop in a local ministry setting.

    The latest Licensed Local Pastors are:

    • Thomas Albrecht Sr.
    • Shelley Andrews
    • Abdias Joel Ayala
    • Deokryeol Bak
    • Tricia Barnes-Garbeck
    • Jeannine Biehls
    • Ann Brown
    • David Buzard
    • Antonio Gonzalez Garcia
    • Carlisle Gross
    • Thomas Holland
    • Stephen Jackson
    • Kevin Kitto
    • Brandon Meacham
    • Rachel Patchen
    • Rebecca Richards
    • Robert Schooley
    • Jennifer Stamm
    • Penny Sutterby
    • Hattie Taylor
    • Howard Underwood
    • Melissa Weatherwax
    • Michael Whitcomb-Tavey
    • Lori Wyman
    • Quincie Yamin

     Bishop Webb also took time to recognize the seven local pastors who completed the Course of Study.

    He said, “It’s a long journey to complete their academic requirements.”

    The following people completed the Course of Study:

    • Joelle Faulks
    • Michael Kelly
    • Wendy Morrison
    • Sheila A. Paige
    • Dawn Queensberry
    • Lori Bruno Taylor
    • Clara Wilder

    Bishop Webb also recognized Certified Lay Minsters, noting that these people work under the direction and in partnership with pastors to help enhance the ministries of small membership churches and expand ministry in medium and large churches.

    Bishop Webb then acknowledged the leadership of the UNY Cabinet.

    He said, “These people are first and foremost committed to Jesus Christ. The work tirelessly not just for the District they are assigned to, but for the entire Conference. There are times of deep conversation, deep discernment, and deep prayers. These individuals may not always agree with each other, but they are always unified in spirit. Their desire is to serve you unconditionally.”

    Bishop paid special recognition to the Rev. Dr. Jeff McDowell and the Rev. Nancy Adams who have completed their Cabinet terms and are now back at local churches.

    He also recognized the Rev. Dr. Sherri Rood, explaining that the Discipline states that a pastor can serve as District Superintendent for a maximum of 14 years and that they can only serve for eight years consecutively. They can return after two years for up to six more years of serving as a District Superintendent. Rev. Dr. Rood served as DS in the Cornerstone District from 2010 to 2018 and was appointed to the Mountain View District earlier this month.

    Bishop Webb also recognized the Rev. Bob Kolvik-Campbell who was appointed to the Oneonta and Binghamton Districts last month.

    Bishop ended his recognitions, by reflecting on the Genesee Valley District.

    He said, “We continue to grieve to grieve the loss of Vonda Fossitt, our previous Genesee Valley District Superintendent (who died in May of 2022) and I am so grateful that Ted Anderson became Interim. I am thankful that he came out of retirement to serve as a District that he has served in the past.”

    TAGGED / Annual Conference 2022

    With more than 100,000 members, United Methodists of Upper New York comprises of more than 675 local churches and New Faith Communities in 12 districts, covering 48,000 square miles in 49 of the 62 counties in New York state. Our vision is to “live the Gospel of Jesus Christ and to be God’s love with our neighbors in all places."