Close X
  • Home
  • About
  • Ministries
  • Mission
  • Events
  • News
  • Resources
  • X



    The Upper New York Conference of The United Methodist Church


    Conference Leadership Team (CLT)

    Pursuant to 2008 Book of Discipline ¶ 610 and the Plan of Union, a Conference Leadership Team serves as the executive body of the Annual Conference between Conference sessions, to ensure the decisions of the Annual Conference are implemented in accordance with the Conference mission, vision and core values.

    Purpose. The Conference Leadership Team provides ongoing coordination, focus and direction in order to build a culture of mutual accountability throughout the Conference. It is the Conference Leadership Team’s charge to discern, deliberate and articulate the desired outcomes based on the Conference mission, vision and core values.

    Membership. The Conference Leadership Team consists of (reflecting changes made by annual conference action May 2013):

    i. Bill Gottschalk-Fielding (Director of Connectional Ministries with voice, but no vote); 
    ii. Eight at-large members nominated by the Bishop (with voice and vote); and

    Valerie Clark
    Drew Griffin
    Vincent Howell
    Rebecca Laird
    David Morales
    Erinn Gould-Norris
    Andrew Sperry
    Steven Taylor

    iii. Linda Hughes (Commission on Religion and Race, with voice and vote) 
    iv. Bishop Mark J. Webb (with voice, but no vote); and 
    v. Susan Hardy (Conference Lay Leader, with voice and vote) 
    vi. Steve Hustedt (Director of Communications, with voice but no vote) 
    vii. Nola Anderson and Sherri Rood (District Superintendents) 

    With more than 168,000 members, the Upper New York Annual (Regional) Conference of The United Methodist Church comprises 867 local churches and 65 new faith communities in 12 districts, covering 48,000 square miles in 49 of the 62 counties in New York state. Our mission is to “live the Gospel of Jesus Christ and to be God’s love with our neighbors in all places."