Close X
  • Home
  • About
  • Ministries
  • Mission
  • Events
  • News
  • Resources
  • X



    The Upper New York Conference of The United Methodist Church

    Cornerstone District News

    News of the Southern Tier Region

    June 10, 2021 / By Cathy Hall / .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

    Dear Pastors serving our Lord in the Southern Tier Region of our conference:

    The Southern Tier districts are Cornerstone, Mountainview, Binghamton and Oneonta. We have three superintendents now serving four districts and to do so, we are adjusting the lines of our districts.

    Beginning July 1, the following churches currently in the Mountainview District will become members of the Cornerstone District:Allentown, Bolivar, KonXions, Swain, Short Tract and Wellsville.

    The following churches currently in the Binghamton District will become members of the Mountainview District:Barton, Halsey, Litchfield, Lounsberry, Nichols, Smithsboro, Spencer, Tioga Center, and Waverly.

    Olean Christ will continue to be in the Cornerstone District and be supervised by Jeff McDowell from the Mountainview District.

    We hope this will clear up some of the confusion and help us keep a focus on our mission of making disciples of Jesus Christ across the land.

    In Christ with you,

    Jeff McDowell, Nancy Adams, and Suzanne Block, superintendents.

    TAGGED / Cornerstone District

    With more than 134,000 members, the Upper New York Annual (Regional) Conference of The United Methodist Church comprises 865 local churches and 85 new faith communities in 12 districts, covering 48,000 square miles in 49 of the 62 counties in New York state. Our mission is to “live the Gospel of Jesus Christ and to be God’s love with our neighbors in all places."